Instagram is adding new features and updates continuously to its application. One such new feature is the Vanish Mode. This Vanish Mode is very useful for users to chat with others.
What is Vanish Mode?
So, what is Vanish mode on Instagram? It is nothing but the mode that makes the chat vanish soon after the conversation between two people is over. The chat gets automatically deleted soon after the users leave the chat on Instagram. Both the people involved in the conversation need to enable the vanish mode and then disable it after use.
It is somewhat similar to Snapchat where the users don’t want the chats to live forever. Unless you manually turn on the Vanish mode, the messages in the app stay forever. Once you turn on this feature, the messages get deleted automatically.
Instagram vanish mode is similar to Incognito Mode. In the case of Incognito Mode, the web browser will not maintain any history of the searches. Likewise, the Vanish mode will not save the backups of the chats and will delete them automatically after chatting.
In Vanish mode, not only messages, but also it will delete other things like
- Other Contents
All the above things vanish automatically when you chat with a vanish mode. If you want to use this mode, ensure that you use the latest version of Instagram. Thus, it is better to update your application by visiting the Play Store or Google Store.
Also read: How To Download Reels Video From Instagram?
How to Use Vanish Mode on Instagram?
Here are the steps that you need to follow for using Vanish Mode on Instagram. It is easy to turn on and off the Vanish Mode.
Open the application and visit the chat page by selecting the ‘Chat’ icon. You will find this icon at the top right corner of the homepage.
Now, you can start a new chat or open an existing chat. To start a new chat, click the ‘New Message’ button that you see at the top right corner of the page.
To use Vanish Mode, you can swipe up from the screen’s bottom and release it.
Now, you can see the screen turning black and you will get a bunch of ‘Shush’ emojis. Such emojis are to indicate that you are in Vanish Mode. Start your chat with your friend and send the messages as normal. On the other hand, the recipient’s message page will also be in black. This is to indicate that the sender is using a Vanish Mode.
To end this Vanish Mode, as you don’t want to use this feature any longer, you can tap the ‘Turn Off Vanish Mode.’ You can do this at the top of the screen, where you will find it. Now, both the sender and recipient are out of the Vanish Mode. So, the messages and other things that you share with your friend stay forever. You can close the window, once the process is over.
Things to Keep in Mind About Vanish Mode
- This vanish mode will work only for one-on-one chats.
- You can’t copy, save or forward the chats in Vanish Mode.
- For more than two people in a chat, this Vanish Mode will not work.
- If you take a screenshot in Vanish Mode, the other person in the chat will get immediate notification.
- The other person in the chat will not come to know if you turn on Vanish Mode. But only the screenshot notifies the other person in the chat.
- Once the messages on the Vanish Mode disappear after the chat, you can’t recover those messages again on Instagram.
- Messages that you share in Vanish Mode will reach the other person like notifications. So, the other person can tap on the notifications to reply to the chat in the Vanish Mode.
- Vanish Mode will not allow you to do video calls or voice calls to the other person. It will allow you to send messages only.
Uses of Vanish Mode
Facebook has implemented this Vanish Mode both on Messenger and Instagram. The main aim of this Vanish Mode is to have an end-to-end encrypted conversation and to avoid others seeing the chat. Thus, the conversation disappears as soon you leave the chat.
When Should You Use The Instagram Vanish Mode?
- When you want to plan some surprises for your relatives or friends, you can use this mode.
- For sharing sensitive messages with your friends, you can use this mode.
- If you are not feeling secure with your messages, as others are getting access to your chats, you can use this Vanish Mode.
- Instagram Vanish Mode is the best idea for chatting with the people that you trust more.
Vanish Mode on Instagram allows users to have a secured chat with friends. Sometimes, there will be a great risk if the other person in the chat takes a photo of your chat. Thus, to avoid this risk, Instagram sends you a notification when the other person in the chat takes a photo. But the problem is that they can take a photo of the chat using another phone. In such a situation, it has become a risk for the person involved in the chat.
Thus, you should use only Vanish Mode, if the other person in the chat is genuine and trustworthy.